THE CHIEF JUSTICES OF FLORIDA

- 1. Thomas Douglas 1846-1851
- 2. Walker Anderson 1851-1853
- 3. Benjamin D. Wright 1853
- 4. Thomas Baltzell 1854-1859
- 5. Charles H. DuPont 1860-1868
- 6. Edwin M. Randall 1869-1885
- George G. McWhorter 1885-1887
- 8. Augustus E. Maxwell 1887-1889
- 9. George P. Raney 1889-1894
- 10. Benjamin S. Liddon 1894
- 11. Milton H. Mabry 1895-1896
- R. Fenwick Taylor 1897-1905 1915-1917
 - 1923-1925
- 13. James B. Whitfield 1905 1909-1913 1935-1937
- 14. Thomas M. Shackleford 1905-1909 1913-1915
- 15. Jefferson B. Browne 1917-1923
- 16. Thomas F. West 1925
- 17. Armstead Brown 1925-1927 1941-1943
- 18. William H. Ellis 1927-1929 1937-1938
- 19. Glenn Terrell 1929-1931 1938-1941 1957-1959
- 20. Louie W. Strum 1931
- 21. Rivers H. Buford 1931-1933 1943-1945
- 22. Fred H. Davis 1933-1935
- 23. Roy H. Chapman 1945-1947
- 24. Elwyn Thomas 1947-1949 1959-1961
- 25. Alto Adams 1949-1951

- 26. Harold L. Sebring 1951-1953
- 27. T. Frank Hobson 1953
- 28. B. K. Roberts 1953-1955 1961-1963 1971-1973
- 29. John E. Mathews 1955
- 30. E. Harris Drew 1955-1957 1963-1965
- 31. Campbell Thornal 1965-1967
- 32. Stephen C. O'Connell 1967
- 33. Millard F. Caldwell 1967-1969
- 34. Richard W. Ervin 1969-1971
- 35. Vassar B. Carlton 1973-1974
- 36. James C. Adkins, Jr. 1974-1976
- 37. Ben F. Overton 1976-1978
- 38. Arthur J. England, Jr. 1978-1980
- 39. Alan C. Sundberg 1980-1982
- 40. James E. Alderman 1982-1984
- 41. Joseph A. Boyd, Jr. 1984-1986
- 42. Parker Lee McDonald 1986-1988
- 43. Raymond Ehrlich 1988-1990
- 44. Leander J. Shaw, Jr. 1990-1992
- 45. Rosemary Barkett 1992-1994
- 46. Stephen H. Grimes 1994-1996
- 47. Gerald Kogan 1996-1998
- 48. Major B. Harding 1998-2000
- 49. Charles T. Wells 2000-2002
- 50. Harry Lee Anstead 2002-2004
- 51. BARBARA J. PARIENTE 2004-2006
- 52. R. FRED LEWIS 2006-2008
- 53. PEGGY QUINCE, 2008-2010
- 54. CHARLES CANADY, 2010-2012
- 55. RICKY POLSTON, 2012-2014
- 56. JORGE LABARGA, 2014-



The Passing of the Gavel to The Honorable

Jorge Labarga

as the
Fifty-Sixth Chief Justice
of Florida



June the Thirtieth, Two Thousand Fourteen Two O'Clock P.M.

Supreme Court Building City of Tallahassee

Justice Jorge Labarga

Jorge Labarga was born in Cuba in 1952 and arrived in the United States at the age of 11. He graduated from Forest Hill High School in West Palm Beach and attended the University of Florida, where he obtained his B.A. and J.D. degrees. He is married to Zulma R. Labarga and they have two daughters.

Justice Labarga began his legal career in 1979 as an Assistant Public Defender in West Palm Beach, and in 1982 joined the Office of the State Attorney there. In 1987, he joined the firm of Cone, Wagner, Nugent, Roth, Romano & Ericksen, and specialized in personal injury trial work. He participated in founding the firm of Roth, Duncan & Labarga in West Palm Beach in 1992.

Governor Lawton Chiles appointed Justice Labarga to the Circuit Court of the Fifteenth Judicial Circuit in 1996. In December 2008, he was appointed by Governor Charlie Crist to the Fourth District Court of Appeal. On January 1, 2009, he was appointed by Governor Crist to the Florida Supreme Court.

History of the Passing of the Gavel

For much of Florida's history, the transfer of power from one Chief Justice to the next was an event shrouded in secrecy. No records exist for the early years of the Court, which first convened in January 1846 under the leadership of Chief Justice Thomas Douglas. One thing is certain: Whatever ceremonies occurred in earlier times were not open to the public.

So it continued until 1996, when Chief Justice Gerald Kogan created the Access Initiative, designed to make the Florida Supreme Court far more open to the public than it had been in the past. In order to emphasize his commitment to openness, Justice Kogan ordered that the ceremony in which he took the oath as Chief Justice be a formal, televised, courtroom event open to the public. Thus, the tradition was begun that continues to the present day with the Passing of the Gavel to Justice Jorge Labarga.

The Ceremonial Gavel used during today's ceremony is only used during the ceremony of transition at which a new Chief Justice is installed. The Great Seals of the State of Florida and of the Supreme Court of Florida are carved into the gavel, a gift from the Florida Supreme Court Historical Society. The gavel is crafted of Florida cherry wood taken from a tree growing near the banks of the Suwannee River.

The Passing of the Gavel to Jorge Labarga

June the Thirtieth. Two Thousand Fourteen

Convening of the Court in Ceremonial Session

Chief Justice Ricky Polston Presiding

Pledge of Allegiance

Townsend and Ella Porcher

Opening Remarks

Chief Justice Ricky Polston

Comments

Ricardo Martínez-Cid, President of the Cuban American Bar Association
Gregory Coleman, President of The Florida Bar
Will Weatherford, Speaker, The Florida House of Representatives
Don Gaetz, President, The Florida Senate
Jeff Atwater, Chief Financial Officer of Florida
Carlos Lopez-Cantero, Lieutenant Governor of Florida

Comments on the Office and Presentation of Justice Jorge Labarga Justice Barbara J. Pariente

Administration of the Oath and Passing of the Gavel Justice Ricky Polston

Reconvening of the Court

Chief Justice Jorge Labarga Presiding

Remarks

Raoul G. Cantero

Closing Remarks

Chief Justice Jorge Labarga

America the Beautiful

Lililita Forbes

Adjournment

Post-ceremony dessert reception hosted by the Florida Supreme Court Historical Society The Honorable Jeffrey D. Kottkamp, committee chair