Florida Crossroads

Alzheimer's in Florida: Communities of Color

Episode #3035 / Length: 28 minutes

Florida has the second highest incidence rate of Alzheimer's Disease. African Americans and Hispanics are less likely to seek an early diagnosis but they develop the fatal disease at higher rates than Caucasians. Advocates and caregivers are working together to help get the word out about programs and initiatives designed to improve the quality of life for all Alzheimer's patients and their loved ones. In this Florida Crossroads, Producer Theresa Marsenburg explores some of the stigmas, barriers and solutions unique to communities of color.

Scheduled Broadcast Times

  • Friday, March 2, 2018 at 1:30 AM ET / 12:30 am CT on WFSU
  • Sunday, March 4, 2018 at 10:00 AM ET / 9:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Sunday, March 4, 2018 at 11:00 AM ET / 10:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Friday, March 2, 2018 at 9:30 PM ET / 8:30 pm CT on 4FSU