Sara's Weeknight Meals

Soul of the South

Episode #701 / Length: 27 minutes

Sara travels to Charleston, South Carolina to learn the secrets to the legendary fried chicken of Martha Lou Gadsden of Martha Lou's Kitchen; then, a hidden history of Southern cooking and ingredients developed by African American cooks. Back in Sara's kitchen, she makes her version of a Southern classic, red beans and rice soup.

Scheduled Broadcast Times

  • Saturday, February 24, 2018 at 10:30 AM ET / 9:30 am CT on WFSU
  • Friday, March 16, 2018 at 6:30 PM ET / 5:30 pm CT on WFSU Create
  • Friday, March 16, 2018 at 9:30 PM ET / 8:30 pm CT on WFSU Create
  • Saturday, March 17, 2018 at 3:30 AM ET / 2:30 am CT on WFSU Create
  • Wednesday, March 28, 2018 at 6:30 PM ET / 5:30 pm CT on WFSU Create
  • Wednesday, March 28, 2018 at 9:30 PM ET / 8:30 pm CT on WFSU Create
  • Thursday, March 29, 2018 at 3:30 AM ET / 2:30 am CT on WFSU Create