Independent Lens

Tell Them We Are Rising: the Story of Black Colleg

Episode #1911 / Length: 2 hours, Length: 60 minutes

Tell Them We Are Rising: The Story of Black Colleges and Universities is a documentary and interactive project that explores the pivotal role historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs) have played in American history, culture, and national identity. Today, over half of all African American professionals are graduates of HBCUs. More than 50% of the nation's African American public school teachers and 70% of African American dentists earned degrees at HBCUs. The film brings to a broad national audience for the first time the story of HBCUs and the power of higher education to transform lives and advance civil rights and equality in the face of intolerance and injustice.

Scheduled Broadcast Times

  • Sunday, February 25, 2018 at 3:00 AM ET / 2:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Sunday, February 25, 2018 at 3:30 PM ET / 2:30 pm CT on WFSU
  • Sunday, February 25, 2018 at 10:30 PM ET / 9:30 pm CT on WFSU
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 at 7:30 PM ET / 6:30 pm CT on WFSU
  • Saturday, March 3, 2018 at 6:58 PM ET / 5:58 pm CT on 4FSU
  • Tuesday, March 13, 2018 at 8:30 PM ET / 7:30 pm CT on 4FSU