Going to War

What is it really like to go to war? For millennia, only warriors could really answer that question. This documentary takes us inside the experience of battle and reveals the soldier's experiences as never before. War is the ultimate paradox. Filled with terror, pain and grief, it also brings exhilaration, and a profound sense of purpose. Going to War helps us make sense of this paradox and get to the heart of what it's like to be a soldier in times of war. The film illuminates the experiences of training, battle, and coming home for soldiers across conflicts, revealing the universals of the warrior's journey. Leading our exploration are Sebastian Junger, bestselling author and director of the Academy Award-nominated film Restrepo, and Karl Marlantes, decorated Marine officer and author of the bestselling novel Matterhorn and the fearless memoir What It is Like to Go to War. Both men bring firsthand experience, hard-won wisdom, and a abiding commitment to telling the warrior's story with insight and unflinching candor.

  • Monday, May 28, 2018 9:00 pm ET / 8:00 pm CT
  • Tuesday, May 29, 2018 1:30 am ET / 12:30 am CT
  • Wednesday, May 30, 2018 3:00 am ET / 2:00 am CT