African Americans: Many Rivers to Cross

The Black Atlantic (1500-1800)

Henry Louis Gates, Jr. with SPECIAL GUEST

Episode #101 / Length: 55 minutes

The Black Atlantic explores the truly global experiences that created the African American people. Beginning a full century before the first documented '20-and-odd' slaves arrived at Jamestown, Virginia, the episode portrays the earliest Africans, both slave and free, who arrived on these shores. But the Trans-Atlantic slave trade would soon become a vast empire connecting three continents. Through stories of individuals caught in its web, like a ten-year-old girl named Priscilla who was transported from Sierra Leone to South Carolina in the mid-18th century, we trace the emergence of plantation slavery in the American South. The late 18th century saw a global explosion of freedom movements, and The Black Atlantic examines what that Era of Revolutions-American, French and Haitian-would mean for African Americans, and for slavery in America.

Scheduled Broadcast Times

  • Sunday, August 30, 2020 at 11:30 AM ET / 10:30 am CT on WFSU
  • Wednesday, September 2, 2020 at 3:00 PM ET / 2:00 pm CT on WFSU