Globe Trekker

Tough Trains: the Transcontinental Railroad, Usa

Episode #1603 / Length: 57 minutes

This episode takes on one of the greatest engineering feats of the 19th Century - the Transcontinental Railroad. Intrepid traveler Zay Harding explores the rich history of railroads on this incredible 3, 000-mile journey across America. Traveling from the Atlantic to the Pacific, through four time zones and 12 states, we experience some of the most epic landscapes and stunning scenery that North America has to offer. From the very earliest steam locomotives in the 1830s, railroads have fundamentally shaped the USA as we know it today, enabling trade, spreading ideas and facilitating mass migration and settlement across the country.

Scheduled Broadcast Times

  • Thursday, August 2, 2018 at 10:00 PM ET / 9:00 pm CT on WFSU
  • Saturday, August 4, 2018 at 4:00 PM ET / 3:00 pm CT on WFSU