Donate
Nova | WFSU Public Media

Schedule Details

Great Electric Airplane Race

airplane race title screen
Nova

Nova

Great Electric Airplane Race

Episode #4807 / Length: 57 minutes

In 2016, Solar Impulse 2, a solar-powered all-electric plane, completed an epic round-the-world flight, a landmark in the long pursuit of an alternative to fossil fuel-powered aviation. NOVA looks at the array of promising new electric planes on the horizon and takes you for a ride in some impressive prototypes that are already in the air-such as Burt Rutan's Long-ESA that can fly at over 200 mph and climb to 3,000 feet in under six minutes. Boeing, Airbus, Raytheon and other major companies are currently racing to develop practical short-haul passenger planes that promise to slash the operating costs and emissions of regular flights. But first, significant hurdles of battery weight, energy storage and cooling must be overcome. How long will it be before the dream of super-quiet, super-efficient airliners becomes a reality?

Scheduled Broadcast Times

  • Wednesday, June 29, 2022 at 9:00 PM ET / 8:00 pm CT on WFSU
  • Thursday, June 30, 2022 at 1:00 AM ET / 12:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Friday, July 1, 2022 at 5:00 AM ET / 4:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Saturday, July 2, 2022 at 4:00 PM ET / 3:00 pm CT on WFSU
  • Monday, July 4, 2022 at 3:00 PM ET / 2:00 pm CT on WFSU