222145222146222147222148222149222150 African Americans: Many Rivers to Cross - WFSU Public Media

African Americans: Many Rivers to Cross

henry louis gates jr with female

This series chronicles the full sweep of African American history, from the origins of slavery on the African continent through five centuries of historic events right up to present day -- when America has a black President, yet remains a nation deeply divided by race. It explores the origins of the people from Africa whose enslavement led to the creation of the African American people, as well as the multiplicity of cultural institutions, political strategies, and religious and social perspectives that African Americans have developed against unimaginable odds. All of these elements define black culture and society in its extraordinarily rich and compelling diversity from slavery to freedom, from the plantation to the White House. Hosted by Harvard scholar Henry Louis Gates, Jr., and drawing on some of America's top historians and heretofore untapped primary sources, the series guides viewers on a journey across 500 years and two continents to shed new light on the experience of being an African American.

The Black Atlantic (1500-1800)
  • Sunday, August 30, 2020 11:30 am ET / 10:30 am CT on WFSU
  • Wednesday, September 2, 2020 3:00 pm ET / 2:00 pm CT on WFSU

The Age of Slavery (1800-1860)
  • Sunday, August 30, 2020 12:42 pm ET / 11:42 am CT on WFSU
  • Wednesday, September 2, 2020 4:30 pm ET / 3:30 pm CT on WFSU

Into the Fire (1861-1896)
  • Sunday, August 30, 2020 1:54 pm ET / 12:54 pm CT on WFSU
  • Thursday, September 3, 2020 3:00 pm ET / 2:00 pm CT on WFSU

Making a Way out of No Way (1897-1940)
  • Sunday, August 30, 2020 3:07 pm ET / 2:07 pm CT on WFSU
  • Thursday, September 3, 2020 4:30 pm ET / 3:30 pm CT on WFSU

Rise! (1940-1968)
  • Sunday, August 30, 2020 4:31 pm ET / 3:31 pm CT on WFSU
  • Friday, September 4, 2020 3:00 pm ET / 2:00 pm CT on WFSU

A More Perfect Union (1968-2013)
  • Sunday, August 30, 2020 5:55 pm ET / 4:55 pm CT on WFSU
  • Friday, September 4, 2020 4:30 pm ET / 3:30 pm CT on WFSU