Breakthrough: the Ideas That Changed the World

Take a mind-blowing journey through human history, told through six iconic objects that modern people take for granted, and see how science, invention and technology built on one another to change everything.

The Telescope
  • Monday, April 22, 2019 5:01 am ET / 4:01 am CT on WFSU

The Airplane
  • Wednesday, April 24, 2019 10:00 pm ET / 9:00 pm CT on WFSU
  • Thursday, April 25, 2019 2:00 am ET / 1:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Friday, April 26, 2019 3:00 am ET / 2:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Sunday, April 28, 2019 3:00 am ET / 2:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Monday, April 29, 2019 5:00 am ET / 4:00 am CT on WFSU

The Robot
  • Wednesday, May 1, 2019 10:00 pm ET / 9:00 pm CT on WFSU
  • Thursday, May 2, 2019 2:00 am ET / 1:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Friday, May 3, 2019 5:00 am ET / 4:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Monday, May 6, 2019 5:00 am ET / 4:00 am CT on WFSU

The Car
  • Wednesday, May 8, 2019 10:00 pm ET / 9:00 pm CT on WFSU
  • Thursday, May 9, 2019 2:00 am ET / 1:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Friday, May 10, 2019 3:00 am ET / 2:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Sunday, May 12, 2019 3:00 am ET / 2:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Monday, May 13, 2019 5:00 am ET / 4:00 am CT on WFSU

The Rocket
  • Wednesday, May 15, 2019 10:00 pm ET / 9:00 pm CT on WFSU
  • Thursday, May 16, 2019 2:00 am ET / 1:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Friday, May 17, 2019 3:00 am ET / 2:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Sunday, May 19, 2019 3:00 am ET / 2:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Monday, May 20, 2019 5:00 am ET / 4:00 am CT on WFSU

The Smartphone
  • Wednesday, May 22, 2019 10:00 pm ET / 9:00 pm CT on WFSU
  • Thursday, May 23, 2019 2:00 am ET / 1:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Friday, May 24, 2019 3:00 am ET / 2:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Sunday, May 26, 2019 3:00 am ET / 2:00 am CT on WFSU