682606826168262682636826468265 Jazz - WFSU Public Media

Jazz

black and white photo of a couple dancing to early jazz

Visit the website: http://www.pbs.org/jazz/

Jazz is born in the unique musical and social cauldron of New Orleans at the turn of the 20th century, emerging from several forms of music, including ragtime, marching bands, work songs, spirituals, European classical music, funeral parade music and, above all, the blues. Musicians who advance early jazz in New Orleans include Creole pianist and composer Jelly Roll Morton, cornetist Buddy Bolden and clarinet prodigy Sidney Bechet. Composer W.C. Handy codifies the blues through his popular compositions. The Original Dixieland Jazz Band makes the first jazz recordings. Their enormous popularity spreads the sounds of jazz across the country and, eventually, the world. At the end of the episode, viewers meet an 11-year-old New Orleans boy, Louis Armstrong, who will emerge from the city's toughest streets to become jazz music's greatest star and transform American music.

Our Language (1924-1928)
  • Thursday, January 28, 2021 4:00 pm ET / 3:00 pm CT on WFSU

The True Welcome (1929-1935)
  • Thursday, January 28, 2021 9:00 pm ET / 8:00 pm CT on WFSU
  • Friday, January 29, 2021 1:00 am ET / 12:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Thursday, February 4, 2021 4:00 pm ET / 3:00 pm CT on WFSU

Swing: Pure Pleasure (1935-1937)
  • Thursday, February 4, 2021 9:00 pm ET / 8:00 pm CT on WFSU
  • Friday, February 5, 2021 1:30 am ET / 12:30 am CT on WFSU
  • Thursday, February 11, 2021 4:00 pm ET / 3:00 pm CT on WFSU

Swing: the Velocity of Celebration (1937-1939)
  • Thursday, February 11, 2021 9:00 pm ET / 8:00 pm CT on WFSU
  • Friday, February 12, 2021 1:00 am ET / 12:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Thursday, February 18, 2021 4:00 pm ET / 3:00 pm CT on WFSU

Dedicated to Chaos (1940-1945)
  • Thursday, February 18, 2021 9:00 pm ET / 8:00 pm CT on WFSU
  • Friday, February 19, 2021 1:00 am ET / 12:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Thursday, February 25, 2021 4:00 pm ET / 3:00 pm CT on WFSU

Risk (1945-1955)
  • Thursday, February 25, 2021 9:00 pm ET / 8:00 pm CT on WFSU
  • Friday, February 26, 2021 1:00 am ET / 12:00 am CT on WFSU