Chef's Life

Visit the website: http://www.pbs.org/food/shows/a-chefs-life/

A Chef's Life is a new food/reality series featuring Chef Vivian Howard. Vivian was making a name for herself in New York City, when her father, a hog farmer, offered to get her started in her own restaurant. The catch? It would be located in her home town, a place she swore she would never return --- the Deep South. The series plunges audiences into the kitchen of the restaurant Chef and The Farmer, a highbrow restaurant located in Kinston, NC, one of the most impoverished communities in the U.S. When Vivian arrives home, she begs local farmers to grow fennel, lemongrass and Jerusalem artichokes --- none of which are native to the region. Soon, she realizes that the cooking techniques she learned in New York could be applied to her "grandmother's ingredients," the bounty grown by local farmers. Vivian's recipes are exquisitely assembled to bring out the best in the locally grown fresh ingredients. This is real "southern cooking," anyone can implement into their own lives. Six years in, Vivian has become a pillar in this small community, with the restaurant winning accolades across the country. As the series opens, she and her husband Ben are juggling the business and raising twins, when a devastating kitchen fire destroys the restaurant overnight. What happens next is a true testament to Southern grit.

Muscadine Time
  • Monday, August 20, 2018 9:00 pm ET / 8:00 pm CT
  • Tuesday, August 21, 2018 3:00 am ET / 2:00 am CT
  • Saturday, August 25, 2018 2:30 pm ET / 1:30 pm CT
  • Sunday, August 26, 2018 3:00 am ET / 2:00 am CT
  • Saturday, September 15, 2018 8:00 am ET / 7:00 am CT
  • Saturday, September 15, 2018 8:00 pm ET / 7:00 pm CT
  • Sunday, September 16, 2018 2:00 pm ET / 1:00 pm CT

A Road Trip for Rice
  • Wednesday, August 22, 2018 9:00 pm ET / 8:00 pm CT
  • Thursday, August 23, 2018 3:00 am ET / 2:00 am CT

A Peanut Pastime
  • Friday, August 24, 2018 9:00 pm ET / 8:00 pm CT
  • Saturday, August 25, 2018 3:00 am ET / 2:00 am CT

Love Me Some Candied Yams!
  • Monday, August 27, 2018 9:00 pm ET / 8:00 pm CT
  • Tuesday, August 28, 2018 3:00 am ET / 2:00 am CT
  • Saturday, September 1, 2018 2:30 pm ET / 1:30 pm CT
  • Sunday, September 2, 2018 3:00 am ET / 2:00 am CT

Collard Green Queen
  • Wednesday, August 29, 2018 9:00 pm ET / 8:00 pm CT
  • Thursday, August 30, 2018 3:00 am ET / 2:00 am CT

The Buttermilk Belt
  • Friday, August 31, 2018 9:00 pm ET / 8:00 pm CT
  • Saturday, September 1, 2018 3:00 am ET / 2:00 am CT

Have Yourself Some Moonshine
  • Monday, September 3, 2018 9:00 pm ET / 8:00 pm CT
  • Tuesday, September 4, 2018 3:00 am ET / 2:00 am CT
  • Saturday, September 8, 2018 2:30 pm ET / 1:30 pm CT
  • Sunday, September 9, 2018 3:00 am ET / 2:00 am CT

If You Can't Beet Em...
  • Sunday, September 9, 2018 12:30 am ET / Saturday, September 8, 2018 11:30 pm CT

A Casserole Says Plenty
  • Sunday, September 16, 2018 12:30 am ET / Saturday, September 15, 2018 11:30 pm CT

Sweet Corn & Expensive Tea
  • Wednesday, September 19, 2018 8:30 am ET / 7:30 am CT
  • Wednesday, September 19, 2018 2:30 pm ET / 1:30 pm CT

Honey, I'm Home!
  • Sunday, September 23, 2018 12:30 am ET / Saturday, September 22, 2018 11:30 pm CT

Strawberry Stay at Home
  • Sunday, September 23, 2018 8:30 am ET / 7:30 am CT

Pimp My Grits
  • Wednesday, September 26, 2018 8:30 am ET / 7:30 am CT
  • Wednesday, September 26, 2018 2:30 pm ET / 1:30 pm CT

They Call 'em 'bagas
  • Sunday, September 30, 2018 12:30 am ET / Saturday, September 29, 2018 11:30 pm CT

Cracklin' Kitchen
  • Sunday, September 30, 2018 8:30 am ET / 7:30 am CT