Donate

Episode Details: Underground Soup/Dandy Dandelions

Elinor Wonders Why

Underground Soup/Dandy Dandelions

Episode #133

Summary: Ari and Olive visit Elinor, hoping she'll come out and play, but Elinor has hurt her foot and has to stay in bed for the afternoon. So, her friends decide to make her favorite snack, Backyard Soup! With Mr. Rabbit's approval, they go off to gather the vegetables from the garden, but many of the veggies they need seem to be missing. After investigating, they discover that the vegetables they're looking for are root vegetables, which means they're underground. They pluck and pull vegetables and make Elinor her favorite soup, changing the name to "Underground Soup!" When Elinor and Ranger Rabbit go help Deputy Mouse clean up his garden, Elinor be-comes fascinated with dandelions. Why does Deputy Mouse want to pull them out? Eli-nor learns that pulling out the weeds from a garden gives the vegetables room to grow, and composting the leftover weeds is good for the soil. But, when Ms. Llama announces that she's out of spinach for her salad party, Elinor learns that dandelions are actually good to eat, and she helps Ms. Llama make a new delicacy - a dandelion salad!

Full Length: 29 minutes


Upcoming Broadcast Times

  • Tuesday, April 30, 2024 at 12:00 PM ET / 11:00 AM CT on WFSU
  • Tuesday, April 30, 2024 at 1:00 PM ET / 12:00 PM CT on KIDS360
  • Wednesday, May 8, 2024 at 12:00 PM ET / 11:00 AM CT on WFSU